Election 2018: 11, 855 candidates up for NA, PA seats

Election 2018: 11, 855 candidates up for NA, PA seats


According to details, 1, 623 candidates will fight from Punjab, 824 from Sindh, 725 from Khyber Pakhtunkhwa, and 287 from Balochistan for the national assembly seats.

A total of 4, 036 candidates are in the run for 297 general seats of the Punjab Assembly, 2, 252 candidates for 130 general seats of the Sindh Assembly, 1,165  for 99 KP Assembly seats, and 943 for 51 seats of Balochistan Assembly.

Prominent among election candidates are PTI chief Imran Khan, PML-N president Shehbaz Sharif, Chaudhry Nisar Ali Khan, Maryam Nawaz, PPP Chairman Bilawal Bhutto-Zardari, his father Asif Ali Zardari and Awami Muslim League chief Sheikh Rasheed Ahmad.

PTI chief Imran Khan will compete for five constituencies – NA-35 (Bannu), NA-53 (Islamabad), NA-95 (Mianwali), NA-131 (Lahore), and NA-243 (Karachi).

Shehbaz Sharif is contesting from four constituencies this time – NA-132 (Lahore), NA-192 (Dera Gazi Khan), NA-3 (Swat), and NA-249 (Karachi).

PPP Chairman Bilawal Bhutto-Zardari will contest three NA seats – NA-5 (Malakand), NA-200 (Larkana), and NA-246 (Karachi).

Former president Asif Ali Zardari will contest election from NA-213 (Shaheed Benazirabad).

Disgruntled PML-N leader Chaudhry Nisar Ali Khan is up for two National Assembly seats, NA-56 and NA-63, Rawalpindi and four provincial assembly seats, PP-10, PP-12, PP-19 and PP-20.

AML chief Sheikh Rasheed will contest from NA-60 and NA-62 Rawalpindi. Former premier and PML-N candidate Shahid Khaqan Abbasi is contesting from NA-53 (Islamabad) and NA-57 Rawalpindi.

Former premier Nawaz Sharif’s daughter Maryam Nawaz is fighting the election from NA-127 (Lahore).

About author
Profile photo of Rava Desk

Rava Desk

Rava is an online news portal providing recent news, editorials, opinions and advice on day to day happenings in Pakistan.

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *