6228c1e475bc8 800x454

PPP’s Nisar Khuhro Wins Senate Election in Sindh


PPP leader Nisar Khuhro wins Senate by-poll in Sindh, on the seat vacated by former federal minister Faisal Vawda following his disqualification. Khuhro secured the seat by bagging 99 votes out of 101; two votes were rejected. The polling took place in the Sindh Assembly building and continued without any break until late afternoon. The opposition parties include the Tehreek Labbaik Pakistan (TLP), the Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaaf (PTI), Muttahida Qaumi Movement-Pakistan (MQM-P), Muttahida Majlis-e-Aml (MMA), and the Grand Democratic Alliance (GDA) had already announced the boycott of the polling process.

Despite the boycott, two MPAs from PTI voted for Nisar Khuhro, as per Sindh Chief Minister Murad Ali Shah. Moreover, PTI’s Sindh president and Maritime Affairs Minister Ali Zaidi took his official Twitter account and wrote, “The PTI-led opposition will boycott tomorrow’s [March 9] Senate election in Sindh Assembly on the seat vacated due to Faisal Vawda’s disqualification.”

Earlier, the former minister Faisal Vawda was disqualified for a lifetime under Article 62(1)(f) of the Constitution as he was found concealing his US nationality while submitting his nomination papers.

A good day for Mr. Khuhro, right?

About author

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *